Navigation auf


Department of Economics

Florian Scheuer and Björn Bartling - New Chairman and Vice Chairman

Florian Scheuer, previously Vice Chairman, has taken on the role of new Chairman to the Department, and Björn Bartling has taken on the role of Vice Chairman.

Portrait of New Chairman and Vice Chairman

Florian Scheuer joined the Department in 2016 and is the UBS Foundation Professor of Economics of Institutions. His research connects the fields of public finance, economic theory, macroeconomics and political economy. His work has been published in the American Economic Review, the Journal of Political Economy, the Quarterly Journal of Economics and the Review of Economic Studies, among other journals.

Björn Bartling, Professor of Behavioral and Experimental Economics has been a Professor at the Department since 2011. In his research, he uses empirical methods to study the impact of social and moral motivations in economic contexts. Björn Bartling is also a Visiting Professor at the Centre for Experimental Research on Fairness, Inequality and Rationality (FAIR) - The Choice Lab, NHH Norwegian School of Economics, and serves as Associate Editor for the Journal of the European Economic Association and for Management Science.

Ralph Ossa has been appointed Chief Economist to the WTO as of January 2023. While he remains associated with our Department, he has stepped down as Chairman.

We wish all of them success in their new roles.