Five Global Challenges

We want to contribute to finding answers to the five most pressing challenges humanity is facing today. How we, as a society, deal with the challenges will have a decisive impact on how the world develops in the coming decades.  

Reducing Poverty and Inequality

Inequality

Reducing poverty and inequality remains a central policy priority of our time. The United Nations have put it at the core of their 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in which they pledge to “leave no one behind”. Over the past 25 years, there has been a considerable reduction in extreme poverty and between-country inequality. At the same time, extreme poverty remains high in sub-Saharan Africa and there has been a marked increase in within-country inequality, particularly through rises in income and wealth at the very top.

learn more

Achieving a Sustainable Economy

 sustainable economics

The ongoing destruction of our natural environment is threatening our survival. This is particularly true for climate change, which is widely recognized as one of the greatest risks to humanity. We need to respond to this risk through climate change mitigation and adaptation. This requires fundamental changes to our economy, such as reducing fossil fuel consumption and preparing for extreme weather conditions. The broader goal is to achieve a sustainable economy in the sense of “meeting the needs of the present, without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs”.

learn more

Managing the Digital Revolution

digital revolution

Digital technology continues to revolutionize our economy. Its disruptive nature is comparable only to that of earlier general-purpose technologies such as the steam engine, the electricity generator, or the printing press. It is therefore important to carefully manage the digital revolution so that we can reap its social benefits at acceptable social costs. Important concerns include its effects on jobs, competition, and privacy, particularly with respect to recent applications such as big data, artificial intelligence, robotics, and 3D printing.

learn more

Developing Effective Public Policies

public policies

Nationalist, populist, and extremist movements are shaking up our political systems. It remains to be seen whether this is only a temporary crisis of liberal democracy or a turning point for the postwar liberal international order. Against this background, governments have to continue to develop effective public policies. Key public policy challenges beyond the four issue areas listed here include an aging population, rising sovereign debt, unconventional monetary policy, and increasingly complex financial markets.

learn more

 

Overcoming the Globalization Crisis

globalization

Globalization as we know it is in a deep crisis. Problems related to the way in which we move goods, capital, and people have become so severe that something fundamental will have to change. The most visible expressions of this include the trade war, the collapse of the WTO, the financial crisis, the Euro crisis, the refugee crisis, and the ‘Brexit’ of the UK from the EU. Underpinning this is a broader crisis of international cooperation, ranging from security matters (i.e. NATO) to environmental issues (i.e. the Paris Agreement).

learn more

 

Understanding Human Behavior and Developing Research Methods

In order to address these challenges, it is essential to have a fundamental understanding of human behavior. How do perception, attention, concentration and evaluation work?  What biological and neural mechanisms underlie decision-making? What influences cognitive capacity?  
In addition, a well-founded application of the tools of economics is a basic prerequisite for a meaningful approach to the questions of our time. This includes the further development of mathematical models and statistical methods.  
 

Learn more about:

Fünf globale Herausforderungen

Pioneering Economics

Mit ökonomischen Modellen sowie statistischen und experimentellen Methoden wollen dazu beitragen, Antworten auf die fünf dringlichsten Herausforderungen zu finden, vor denen die Menschheit heute steht. Wie wir als Gesellschaft mit den Herausforderungen umgehen, wird einen entscheidenden Einfluss darauf haben, wie sich die Welt in den kommenden Jahrzehnten entwickelt.

Armut und Ungleichheit bekämpfen

Inequality

Die Bekämpfung der Armut und Ungleichheit bleibt weiterhin eine zentrale politische Priorität unserer Zeit. Die Vereinten Nationen haben sie in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Agenda 2030 für Nachhaltige Entwicklung gestellt, in der sie versprechen, „niemanden zurückzulassen“. In den letzten 25 Jahren haben sich die extreme Armut und die Ungleichheit zwischen den Ländern deutlich verringert. Gleichzeitig ist die extreme Armut in Afrika südlich der Sahara nach wie vor hoch, und die Ungleichheit innerhalb der Länder hat deutlich zugenommen, insbesondere durch den Anstieg von Einkommen und Vermögen an der Spitze.

mehr dazu

Eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft gestalten

 sustainable economics

Die fortschreitende Zerstörung unserer natürlichen Umgebung bedroht unser Überleben. Dies gilt insbesondere für den Klimawandel, der weithin als eine der größten Gefahren für die Menschheit angesehen wird. Wir müssen auf dieses Risiko reagieren, indem wir den Klimawandel eindämmen und uns anpassen. Dies erfordert grundlegende Änderungen in unserer Wirtschaft, wie einen reduzierten Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe und die Vorbereitung auf extreme Wetterbedingungen. Das übergeordnete Ziel ist es, eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft zu erreichen, in dem Sinne, dass wir „die Bedürfnisse der Gegenwart befriedigen, ohne die Fähigkeit zukünftiger Generationen zu gefährden, ihre eigenen Bedürfnisse zu befriedigen“.

mehr dazu

Die digitale Revolution bewältigen

digital revolution

Digitale Technologien revolutionieren unsere Wirtschaft weiterhin. Ihr wegweisendes Wesen ist nur mit dem früherer Allzwecktechnologien wie der Dampfmaschine, dem Stromgenerator oder der Druckerpresse vergleichbar. Daher ist es wichtig, die digitale Revolution sorgfältig zu steuern, damit wir ihren gesellschaftlichen Nutzen zu vertretbaren gesellschaftlichen Kosten ausschöpfen können. Wichtige Bedenken sind ihre Auswirkungen auf Arbeitsplätze, Wettbewerb und Privatsphäre, insbesondere im Hinblick auf neue Anwendungen wie Big Data, künstliche Intelligenz, Robotik und 3D-Druck.

mehr dazu

Eine wirksame Politik entwickeln

public policies

Nationalistische, populistische und extremistische Bewegungen rütteln an unseren politischen Systemen. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob dies nur eine vorübergehende Krise der liberalen Demokratie oder ein Wendepunkt für die liberale internationale Nachkriegsordnung ist. Vor diesem Hintergrund müssen die Regierungen weiterhin eine wirkungsvolle öffentliche Politik entwickeln. Zu den wichtigsten politischen Herausforderungen, die über die vier hier aufgeführten Themenbereiche hinausgehen, gehören die alternde Bevölkerung, die steigende Staatsverschuldung, eine unkonventionelle Geldpolitik und immer komplexere Finanzmärkte.

mehr dazu

 

Die Globalisierungskrise überwinden

globalization

Die Globalisierung, so wie wir sie kennen, steckt in einer tiefen Krise. Die Probleme im Zusammenhang mit der Art und Weise, wie wir Waren, Kapital und Menschen bewegen, sind so gravierend geworden, dass sich etwas Grundlegendes ändern muss. Die deutlichsten Zeichen dafür sind der Handelskrieg, der Zusammenbruch der WTO, die Finanzkrise, die Eurokrise, die Flüchtlingskrise und der "Brexit" des Vereinigten Königreichs aus der EU. Dahinter verbirgt sich eine noch größere Krise der internationalen Zusammenarbeit, die von Sicherheitsfragen (z. B. NATO) bis hin zu Umweltfragen (z. B. Pariser Abkommen) reicht.

mehr dazu

 

Verstehen des menschlichen Verhaltens und Entwicklung von Forschungsmethoden

Um diese Herausforderungen angehen zu können, ist ein grundlegendes Verständnis des menschlichen Verhaltens unerlässlich. Wie funktionieren Wahrnehmung, Aufmerksamkeit, Konzentration und Bewertung? Welche biologischen und neuronalen Mechanismen liegen der Entscheidungsfindung zugrunde? Was beeinflusst die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit?
Darüber hinaus ist eine fundierte Anwendung der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Forschungsmethoden eine Grundvoraussetzung für eine sinnvolle Herangehensweise an die Fragen unserer Zeit. Das umfasst auch die Weiterentwicklung von mathematischen Modellen und statistischen Methoden. 
 

Erfahren Sie mehr über: