Pioneering Economics

Our Vision, Mission and Values


Vision

The Department of Economics aims to assume a globally leading role taking its place among the world's top-ranked Universities. We want to provide a decisive contribution to comprehensive and sustainable economic and social policies. 

Mission

The world-class research conducted at the Department of Economics has an interdisciplinary focus, combining modern economics with elements from history, political science, psychology, biology, and sociology. We achieve this by appointing outstanding and internationally recognized scientists, creating the best possible research conditions, and encouraging young talent. We also promote the dialog between science and the society with public events on current topics.

 

We want to contribute to finding answers to the five most pressing challenges humanity is facing today. How we as a society deal with these challenges will have a decisive impact on how the world develops in the coming decades. Find out more about these challenges and our contribution.

 


Values

In early 2019, representatives from our faculty, researchers, support staff and student-body met for workshops during which we found common answers to questions such as: What makes our Department unique, how can students and society benefit from our work, how do we collaborate, what is our contribution to society, etc. 

Based on this, we defined four (or eight, depending on how you count) values that summarize our answers to these questions and will give you an idea of what we are all about.

Perspectives

Leading the Way. Providing Perspectives.
The Department of Economics is a thought leader in economics and addresses the challenges and questions of today’s society. With our forward-thinking attitude and multidisciplinary approach, we are pushing into unchartered territory. We offer direction – to students, society, leaders and policy makers.

insirung curiosity

Inspiring Curiosity. Enabling Transformation.
The Department of Economics is transforming the global discourse of economics through its research. We believe that personal, social and scientific transformation begins with inspiration and insight. We reach out to provide a home to open-minded scientists and colleagues.

promoting talents

Promoting Talents. Leveraging Diversity.
The Department of Economics seeks variety and diversity in cultural and scientific backgrounds, approaches, lifestyles and interests. We offer our students world-class education and outstanding facilities. We encourage novel approaches and collaboration across borders to create an inspiring work environment for all employees.

Creating Economics

Creating Economics. Shaping Society.
The Department of Economics pushes towards a fundamentally new understanding of economics. We challenge and redefine conventions and thought categories based on methodological analysis and empirical evidence. We share our insights in accessible ways and aim to create a significant impact on society and contribute positively to the world as a whole.

Pioneering Economics

Unsere Vision, Mission und Werte


Vision

Der Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften verfolgt das Ziel, eine weltweit führende Rolle und seinen Platz in den Reihen der Eliteuniversitäten der Welt einzunehmen. Wir wollen einen entscheidenden Beitrag zu einer umfassenden und nachhaltigen Wirtschafts- und Sozialpolitik leisten.

Mission

Die Weltklassenforschung im Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und verbindet die moderne Wirtschaftswissenschaft mit Elementen aus Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft, Psychologie, Biologie und Soziologie. Dies erreichen wir durch die Anstellung herausragender und international anerkannter Wissenschaftler, die Schaffung bestmöglicher Forschungsbedingungen und die Förderung junger Talente. Außerdem fördern wir den Dialog zwischen der Wissenschaft und der Gesellschaft mit öffentlichen Veranstaltungen zu aktuellen Themen.


Wir wollen dazu beitragen, Antworten auf die fünf dringlichsten Herausforderungen zu finden, vor denen die Menschheit heute steht. Wie wir als Gesellschaft mit diesen Herausforderungen umgehen, wird einen entscheidenden Einfluss darauf haben, wie sich die Welt in den nächsten Jahrzehnten entwickelt. Erfahren Sie mehr über diese Herausforderungen und unseren Beitrag. 

Werte

Anfang 2019 trafen sich Vertreter unserer Fakultät, Forscher, Support-Mitarbeiter und der Studentenschaft zu Workshops, in denen wir gemeinsame Antworten auf Fragen wie diese fanden: Was macht unseren Fachbereich einzigartig, wie können Studenten und die Gesellschaft von unserer Arbeit profitieren, wie arbeiten wir zusammen, was ist unser Beitrag zur Gesellschaft, usw.


Darauf aufbauend haben wir vier Werte (oder acht, je nachdem, wie Sie zählen) definiert, die unsere Antworten auf diese Fragen zusammenfassen und Ihnen eine Vorstellung davon geben, worum es uns geht.

Perspectives

Führung übernehmen. Wege weisen.
Das Department of Economics übernimmt eine Vorreiterrolle in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften und stellt sich den Fragen und Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Mit unserer zukunftsorientierten Haltung und einem multidisziplinären Ansatz betreten wir Neuland. Wir bieten Orientierung – für Studierende, die Öffentlichkeit, Führungskräfte und politische Entscheidungsträger.

insirung curiosity

Neugierde wecken. Wandel ermöglichen.
Das Department of Economics beeinflusst den globalen Diskurs in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften durch seine Forschung.Wir sind der Meinung, dass Inspiration und Erkenntnis die Voraussetzung für persönliche, soziale und wissenschaftliche Transformation sind. Wir bieten kritischen und neugierigen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Persönlichkeiten ein Zuhause.

promoting talents

Talente fördern. Vielfalt nutzen.
Das Department of Economics fördert Diversität und Vielfalt in Bezug auf Mitarbeitende, kulturelle und wissenschaftliche Ansätze und Interessen. Wir bieten unseren Studierenden eine Ausbildung auf höchstem Niveau und eine exzellente Infrastruktur. Wir verfolgen neue Ansätze der Zusammenarbeit, um ein inspirierendes Arbeitsumfeld für alle Mitarbeitenden zu schaffen.

Creating Economics

Wirtschaft kreieren. Gesellschaft gestalten.
Das Department of Economics ruft zu einem grundlegend neuen Verständnis der Wirtschaftswissenschaften auf. Wir hinterfragen Konventionen und definieren Denkkategorien neu. Wir teilen unsere Erkenntnisse auf zugängliche Weise und streben danach, einen bedeutenden und positiven Einfluss auf die Welt zu haben.