Rankings

The Department of Economics is consistently placed among the best European economics departments in research based rankings, demonstrating the high quality and impact of our research.

Nevertheless, we are aware that no ranking is perfect and share the University’s opinionthat rankings should always be taken with a grain of salt. Different rankings cater to different needs - some are targeted at students, some focus on the academic achievements of the department as a research facility, others include subjective or projective measures, and most do not correct for relevance of the publications or size of the department. 

Our Approach

The Department of Economics primarily evaluates its own performance in comparison to other departments based on the “Tilburg” (international) and “Handelsblatt” (German speaking area) rankings. We believe that these two rankings are best able to capture academic contributions as they are based solely on qualified scientific output.

As a department, we strive for excellence and set ourselves high standards. In our own evaluation of the Tilburg Ranking we therefore only include the top publications, i.e.  American Economic Review, Econometrica, Journal of Political Economy, Quarterly Journal of Economics, and Review of Economic Studies.

When looking at our achievements through the Handelsblatt ranking, again we only consider their A+ Publications which include American Economic Review, Econometrica, Journal of Political Economy, Quarterly Journal of Economics, Review of Economic Studies, Journal of Finance, Journal of Financial Economics, Journal of Monetary Economics, Nature and Science

Rankings

In den auf Forschung basierenden Rankings zählt das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre regelmässig zu den besten europäischen Wirtschaftsinstituten. Das ist ein Beleg für die hohe Qualität und den Einfluss unserer Forschung.

Wir sind uns jedoch bewusst, dass kein Ranking perfekt ist, und teilen daher die Auffassung der Universität, dass Rankings stets mit Vorsicht zu geniessen sind. Unterschiedliche Rankings tragen unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen Rechnung. Einige richten sich an Studenten, andere konzentrieren sich auf die Studienleistungen des Instituts als Forschungseinrichtung. Wieder andere umfassen subjektive oder projektive Massnahmen. Und die meisten Rankings berücksichtigen nicht die Relevanz der Veröffentlichungen oder die Grösse des Instituts. 

Unser Ansatz

Das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre bewertet seine Leistungen im Vergleich zu anderen Instituten hauptsächlich auf der Grundlage des Tilburg Rankings (international) und des Rankings des Handelsblatts (deutschsprachiger Raum). Wir halten diese zwei Rankings als am besten geeignet, um wissenschaftliche Beiträge abzubilden, da sie ausschliesslich auf qualifizierten wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen beruhen.

Als Institut streben wir nach Exzellenz und setzen uns selbst hohe Standards. In unserer eigenen Evaluierung des Tilburg Rankings berücksichtigen wir daher nur die besten Publikationen, wie American Economic Review, Econometrica, Journal of Political Economy, Quarterly Journal of Economics und Review of Economic Studies.