About Us

The Department of Economics is part of the Faculty of Business, Economics and Informaticsat the University of Zurich, the largest Swiss university founded in 1833. Over the last decade, the department has developed into a leading research department, consistently ranked among the top 10 European economics departments. Our PhD program attracts applications from excellent students from all over the world.

The Department’s distinguished faculty members have received several prestigious ERC grants and numerous other awards. Faculty members include current and former editors of leading scholarly journals (including Econometrica, the Journal of the European Economic Association and the Economic Journal) and have served as presidents of international economic associations (including the European Economic Association and the Economic Science Association).

See our latest publications

Faculty expertise covers all key areas of economics, including macroeconomics, theoretical and applied microeconomics, econometrics and neuroeconomics. The research conducted at the department often has an interdisciplinary focus, combining modern economics with elements from history, political science, psychology, biology, and sociology. The department hosts the world-renowned laboratory for experimental and behavioral economics, as well as the Laboratory for Social and Neural Systems Research.


UBS International Center of Economics in Society

The UBS International Center of Economics in Society, UBS Center in short, is an
Associated Institute at the Department of Economics of the University of Zurich.
It was established in 2012, enabled by a founding donation by UBS, which the
bank made on the occasion of its 150th anniversary. The UBS center supports the
department's ambition to further strengthen its position as one of the top
economics departments in Europe and to make Zurich one of the best places for
research in economics in the world. It further serves as a platform for
dialogue between academia, business, politics, and the broader public.


Excellence Foundation Zurich

The Excellence Foundation Zurich supports the Department of Economics in bringing leading researchers to Zurich and in establishing additional professorships directed towards the most important subjects of our times. In the sense of an interface between research and business, it brings science and its supporters together with enterprises, foundations, and private persons. As an innovative foundation, it offers its supporters many diverse possibilities for cooperation and tailor-made partnerships.

Über Uns

Das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre gehört zur Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich, der grössten Universität der Schweiz, die 1833 gegründet wurde. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sich das Institut als eine führende Forschungseinrichtung positioniert, die stets unter den zehn besten wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten in Europa rangiert. Unser Doktoratsprogramm lockt Studierende mit exzellenten Qualifikationen aus aller Welt an.

Die herausragenden Wissenschaftler des Instituts haben bereits mehrere renommierte ERC-Grants und zahlreiche andere Auszeichnungen erhalten. Diverse Professoren sind oder waren als Herausgeber führender Fachzeitschriften (beispielsweise Econometrica, Journal of the European Economic Association und Economic Journal) tätig oder standen internationalen ökonomischen Vereinigungen wie der European Economic Association und der Economic Science Association als Präsidenten vor.

Aktuelle Publikationen finden Sie hier

Das breite Forschungsfeld des Instituts umfasst alle wichtigen Teilbereiche der Volkswirtschaftslehre, darunter Makroökonomie, theoretische und angewandte Mikroökonomie, Ökonometrie und Neuroökonomie. Geforscht wird häufig mit einem interdisziplinären Ansatz, der moderne Volkswirtschaftslehre mit historischen, politikwissenschaftlichen, psychologischen, biologischen und soziologischen Elementen verbindet. An das Institut angegliedert sind das weltberühmte Labor für Verhaltensökonomie und experimentelle Wirtschaftsforschung und das Labor zur Erforschung sozialer und neuronaler Systeme.

UBS International Center of Economics in Society

Das UBS International Center of Economics in Society –kurz UBS Center –ist ein assoziiertes Institut des Instituts für Volkswirtschaftslehre der Universität Zürich. Es wurde 2012 gegründet, ermöglicht durch eine Spende von UBS, welche die Bank anlässlich ihres 150-jährigen Jubiläums machte. 

Das UBS-Center unterstützt das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre in seinem Bestreben, seine Spitzenposition in Europa zu stärken und Zürich weltweit zu einem der besten Forschungsstandorte im Bereich der Wirtschaftswissenschaften zu machen. Ausserdem dient es als Plattform für den Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und der breiten Öffentlichkeit.

Excellence Foundation Zurich

Die Excellence Foundation Zurich unterstützt das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre dabei, führende Wissenschaftler für Zürich zu gewinnen und weitere Lehrstühle in den wichtigsten Fachgebieten der heutigen Zeit einzurichten. Im Sinne einer Schnittstelle zwischen Forschung und Wirtschaft bringt die Excellence Foundation Zurich die Wissenschaft und deren Förderer mit Unternehmen, Stiftungen und Privatpersonen zusammen. Als innovative Stiftung bietet sie den Gönnern verschiedenste Möglichkeiten für Kooperationen und massgeschneiderte Partnerschaften.